Israel, Israel God is Calling

This week was really amazing. It did not start out all that easy, but as the time went by, it got better. The highlight of this week was Friday when we got a call from an unknown number from a lady that wanted a Book of Mormon. So we met, and she asked us a lot of questions about the church (polygamy, temple sealings, blacks and the priesthood, etc.). The thing is, none of the questions were meant to be offensive of to try to prove that the church is wrong. In fact she had the intent to learn. When we talked to her about the family and genealogy, her heart was touched and she told us that she wanted to experience more. She does not have time right now because her daughter is visiting from Canada, but she wants to come to church.

This weekend was Stake Conference so that was a big highlight as well. Elder Adler of the third quorum of the seventy visited us here in Berlin. Saturday night was really insightful. Our stake President gave a talk about the scripture in Revelation 3:20 “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.” He then spoke of how we often have the roles mixed up between us and the Lord. We sometimes think that we are the one knocking and calling to the Lord and he is somewhere else having forgotten that we are seeking him. However, in reality the Lord stands at the door and knocks and we must be willing to go to the door and open it to him. Then he will come in and work with us and we will see his hand in the events of the day. However, if we show him that we no longer want him with us, he will leave, him being the gracious guest that he is. There is much more that he talked about but that is the thing that I was most struck by. In fact, in my personal study I was reading in Alma 5 and I noticed the same principle taught in that chapter:

60 And now I say unto you that the good shepherd doth call after you; and if you will hearken unto his voice he will bring you into his fold, and ye are his sheep; and he commandeth you that ye suffer no ravenous wolf to enter among you, that ye may not be destroyed.

I hope that I can hear his voice that calls to me as I read the scriptures, pray in sincerity and interact with those around me. The Lord’s voice in calling all the day long, his arms of mercy are stretched out, I only hope that I will find myself encircled in his arms.

I just thought of this hymn that goes together with these thoughts.

Israel, Israel God is Calling

2. Israel, Israel, God is speaking.
Hear your great Deliv’rer’s voice!
Now a glorious morn is breaking
For the people of his choice.
Come to Zion, come to Zion,
And within her walls rejoice.
Come to Zion, come to Zion,
And within her walls rejoice.

I love you all, I hope you enjoyed having this long email. Don’t forget to learn for yourself:)

Love,

Elder J Billings

March Zone Training Meeting

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

