Choose Ye This Day Whom Ye Will Serve

[Joseph is staying in Potsdam (near Berlin) for this transfer.  His new companion is a native German who has been a member of the church for about 18 months.]

Like it says in Joshua 24:15 we must choose this day to serve the gods of the world or the Lord our God. He invites us to act and to serve today. While the sun is up, while the chance is still there. Nothing is more satisfying than to know that you have done all that the Lord has asked you to do.

This week I was a little sick, and it made things difficult, but I can say now that I do not have regrets because I did what I could. This week at church I saw the principle of action in action :). A young deacon was sitting with me in fast and testimony meeting. I asked him if he would bear his testimony, and he said that he wasn’t ready to. At the end of the meeting he said that he regretted not sharing his testimony. As I thought about it, I realized that I often have these same thoughts. I do not feel prepared to act as God has asked, so I put it off, and when the time to act has passed, I feel that I should have acted in the time given. So it is with life, we are given time to act and to prove ourselves before the Lord. When the end has come we will know that the time to act is gone.

I have seen this week that the time to act in now. And when we act in faith, the Lord will guide us, whether we feel prepared to do what he has asked or not.

I know that God loves us and that He guides his children today. He has guided me to become better than I could be on my own, and I know he does that for each and every one of us.

Elder J Billings

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

