Personal Study Time

This week I noticed what a blessing it is to have study time set aside in the day. Really setting time aside for the Lord shows him that we are ready to learn from his spirit. In 3 Nephi 17:3 Jesus tells the people to ponder what he has said, pray for understanding and then prepare their minds to hear His words the next day. As I read this verse, I realized that this is the pattern of spiritual learning. 1st: Prepare your mind. 2nd Listen to/Read the word. 3rd ponder the word. 4th pray for understanding. And begin again.

I would also add to that list, record thoughts and questions in a journal. As I have applied this in my study I have felt the spirit teach me in a way I never thought possible. If you ever feel that studying the Book of Mormon is boring, just try this. Even if it is just ten minutes, it will change you.

One cool experience from this week, one of our investigators completed her baptismal interview. We have been teaching her about 6 or 7 weeks now, and I have seen her grow so much! She will be baptized next Sunday, and I will send out pictures then.

Love,

Elder J Billings

Sunrise from J's room

Sunrise from J’s room

Sunset near Castle Bernburg

Sunset near Castle Bernburg

the bear

the bear

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

