In Which Elder Billings drives on the Autobahn and Helps Coach Football

So this week was actually really interesting. I spent the first three days in another area because one of the zone leaders was in the hospital. He is ok now, so nothing to worry about. I was with two elders within 4 months of going home, and it was scary. It was like a flash back to the MTC when I had a dream that I came home  from my mission, and everyone kept asking how it was, and I could only remember what happened in the MTC. Except in this case I only had about 4 months of experiences, and I was about to go home. So that was a little weird. Oh, I also drove a car for the first time in Germany. My companion and the sick zone leader were staying at the apartment while I went out with the other zone leader. He is from California, so he is not allowed to drive in Germany, so I had to do it. I was freaked out because I went on the autobahn and everything. That was a very interesting experience.

This week we had our zone training meeting, and my companion and I were asked to give a lesson. I was really nervous, but I guess it turned out fine. We talked about how it is so important to help the investigators understand why they need to keep the commitments and commandments. That they understand that God is asking them to do these things not just two  missionaries. It helped me to realize how much the Spirit helps our teaching.

My new companion loves football, and one of the less active members that we work with found that out. He gave us the number of the head coach of the team in Wilhelmshaven, and we called him up. We told him who we are and what we are doing in Germany, then we told him that we both had experience with football, and we would be willing to help him coach. He was so excited. He told us that two missionaries about 5 years ago had done the same thing, and the kids that were on the team looked up to them so much. I am almost out of time so I will finish my story quickly. So we are helping him coach and that has become one of our biggest opportunities to find young interested people to teach.

Yesterday, Elder Field and I were talking after we watched a district episode about receiving answers to prayers. We talked about how it is often difficult for investigators to recognize their answers to their prayers. I remember how Preach My Gospel says that a missionary needs to know how an investigator will feel, so I decided to have my personal study today as if I was investigating the church for the first time. I read the Wiederherstellung [Restoration] pamphlet and the introduction to the Book of Mormon, 3 Nephi 11 and Moroni 10. As I prayed at the end of my study session to know if the Book of Mormon was true, I received one of the strongest feelings of peace and assurance that I have had in my life. My testimony of the Book of Mormon was strengthened in a way I have not felt in a long time. I know that it is true. I guess part of the reason I thought of it too was because I have been thinking a lot about fundamentals and basics this week. I realized how important it is to have a strong testimony of the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon.

Thank you for your support and prayers.

Elder J Billings

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

