February 17, 2014

Thanks so much for all of the emails and support that everyone has given me. Things are really crazy right around now because I just finished packing, and I still have class from 6-9.

President Matthew Holland spoke at the devotional last night and some of his relatives came. It was really amazing. He talked about the life of Joseph Smith and the coming forth of the Book of Mormon. It really hit me that we all have challenges no matter how important the work we are doing is. I have noticed that German comes a lot easier that I had been expecting. I definitely don’t feel ready, but I hope that I have been prepared to do the work that I am meant to do.

After the Devotional we watched Mountain of the Lord. It was a really interesting insight into the life of Wilford Woodruff and the building of the Salt Lake Temple. It helped me to understand more how I could have a better experience at the temple. I have learned so much while I was here at the MTC, and my German teachers were amazing. I have probably grown tenfold while I was here, and I know that if I am following God’s commandments I can grow even more. I have come to know that Life is not meant to be easy but we can only grow through trials. Pray for trials and pray that God will uphold you with his might and grace. It is like teaching a child to swim. They are held so that they must struggle and work but they are kept from sinking by the hand of the Teacher.

I hope that everyone is doing well.
Ich habe Lieb für euch.
Auf Wiedersehen!

Joseph’s MTC companion was Elder Liddiard, and they shared a room with Elders Clarke and Flack.  The district decided to sing Happy Birthday to Joseph in the cafeteria, which is against the rules.  The nearby district/zone leader walked over to the group, ignored all the singing Elders, and told Joseph that it was against the rules to sing in the cafeteria.  They left around 9:40 am going to Minneapolis, and to Amsterdam and Berlin after that.

Elder Boyce's last Sunday in Provo

Elder Boyce’s last Sunday in Provo

Elders Liddiard and Billings, Brother Luna, Elders Clarke and Flack

Elders Liddiard and Billings, Brother Luna, Elders Clarke and Flack
Elders Liddiard and Billings, Sister Covey, Elders Clark and Flack

Elders Liddiard and Billings, Sister Covey, Elders Clark and Flack

Elders Liddiard and Clarke, Brother Devonas, Elders Billings and Flack

Elders Liddiard and Clarke, Brother Devonas, Elders Billings and Flack

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

